My Chapstick Addiction

6 Jan

I’ll admit it… I’m addicted to chapstick. Most often I have at least one chapstick and one lip gloss with me at all times, not to mention I have one next to my bed, in each coat pocket (just in case!), one at my desk, one in my gym bag and one in each bag that I use during the week – that’s ten chapsticks I have floating around at least! It took me less than 5 seconds to find all of this in my purse –

This wasn’t just a gradual obsession of the years, either…

It all started when I was little, maybe 3 years old. I remember my lips being on FIRE, so I just kept licking them and licking them and putting water on them to get them to stop hurting. Well, my mom couldn’t help but notice and asked me if I wanted some chapstick. “Chapstick? What is that?!” I thought. She then reached into her purse, and pulled out this wonderful little stick of pure bliss and my lips instantly stopped hurting and felt so soft! From then on, I was hooked. I must have chapstick at all times. Oh, Blistex medicated lip balm in the dark green tube and Blistex medicated lip balm berry flavor, you were my childhood savior and gateway to other high end chapsticks (Softlips! Nivea! Burt’s Bees! Oh, the list goes on!) The only chapstick that I detest (but will still use if it is the only one available) are any of the ones with the black labels – whether it’s Chapstick, Blistex, Walgreens brand, CVS brand, doesn’t matter. This seems to be the universal color for bologna flavor, and I can’t take it. Ew.

Now, as you can imagine, using so much chapstick can get pretty expensive (especially when one goes missing – oh the pain I felt when my boyfriend lost a strawberry Carmex in a hotel room before I got the chance to even try it. Why couldn’t he have taken the vanilla one?! WHY?!) so every chance I can, I coupon them like crazy! Here are some good deals that I found recently:

Target: Their Burt’s Bees chapstick Christmas stocking stuffers are on clearance for $0.89 a piece, in both the honey and pomegranate flavors!

CVS: They currently have a promotion for spend $10 on Nivea products, get $5 in Extra Care Bucks. Buy 4 chapsticks at $2.50 a piece (to total $10), then use (4) $1 off one coupons from Facebook, or (2) $3 off two coupons from Red Plum 1/11 , to score four chapsticks for either $0.25 a piece or free (depending on which coupon you use, after taking in to account the ECB you receive) – Thanks KrazyCouponLady!

Stop and Shop: Blistex is on sale, 10 for $10! Use a $0.25 off one Blistex Lipcare Product from SS 11/13 (exp 1/31/12) which Stop and Shop will double, to make each chapstick $0.50!

What’s your favorite chapstick?

One Response to “My Chapstick Addiction”

  1. PJ January 6, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Oh. My. Gawd. This is me too. In fact, when I saw this blog post hit my email and I read the title I reached for my Burt’s Bees. So nice to know I’m not the only lip product addict out there. My favorite is still ChapStick Cherry but I like Burt’s Bees beeswax a lot too.

  2. Jackie D. January 7, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I am a chapstick addict too! I work for Bath and Body Works so I always have a ton with me!

Leave a Reply

