My Quick Steak and Caramelized Onion Pizza

7 Dec

So last night I realized I had some thawed dough in the fridge to use and I didn’t want to just make plain pizza.  I wanted to put some protein on it.  So I realized I had some flank steak in the freezer so here’s what I did!

Cook the steak in a pan with some salt and pepper.

Cut up the onions into slices and place in a pan with some olive oil.  Put a dash of sugar and salt in to speed up caramelizing.  Don’t put heat up too high – you don’t want to burn the onions, but they should be black when done 🙂

Preheat the oven according to your pizza dough instructions (mine was 425).

Spread crust into a pan – layer with cheese (gorgonzola or blue would be good but I used a pizza blend), steak, cheese, onions, then a dash of rosemary.

Bake according to instructions (mine was 12-15 minutes).

It was so good we had no leftovers!  It’s amazing how you can turn a boring pizza into a speciality one just by scoping out your freezer!

One Response to “My Quick Steak and Caramelized Onion Pizza”

  1. thewhitedish December 7, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I like that! I myself like grilled pizzas. I do the same thing with leftovers. If you ever eat steak or chicken fajitas from a mexican restaurant and have leftover meat with onions and peppers….use that with a pizza sauce and add mushrooms and cheese….mmmm…it’s good!!

Leave a Reply

