Easy, Fast and Healthy Vegan Flatbread, Crackers and Jam!

1 Dec

Oh. My. Sweet. Goodness. I have hit the mother load.

Image

I began this evening wanting to test out a recipe that I had tweeked quite a bit for vegan flatbread and ended up making not only 3 different types of flatbreads, but crackers AND a much healthier alternative to jam! We currently are able to get bread pretty routinely at a reduced price at Shaw’s which makes it affordable (and convenient!) to buy at the store, but I’ve decided that if there ever comes a time where we are faced with paying $4 for a loaf of bread I would simply start making all of our bread from scratch, which ends up costing about $1-$1.50 a loaf. That got me thinking – what if I could make the sandwich thins I found on clearance from scratch? Bingo.

I found a bunch of different recipes for flatbreads, but didn’t find anything that fit exactly what I wanted – vegan, little to no sugar and only a small amount of oil – so I made my own recipe! From the basic recipe, I added 2 different add-ins to make plain, cinnamon (cinnamon + sucanat), and garlic cracked pepper (cracked black pepper and dried garlic) sandwich thins. Since I was using a circle cookie cutter, I had a bunch of bits of dough left over that I didn’t want to waste so what did I do? I rolled it all together and cut it up into crackers!

Recipe

  • 2.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • .5 cup wheat bran
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of baking soda
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 1/4 cup cold water

Preheat the oven with pan inside to 400 degrees. Mix together the flours, salt, baking powder, and baking soda then stir in the canola oil.  Pour in the cold water and form into a ball.

Divide the ball into two pieces and leave on in the bowl while you work with the other. Roll one of them out on a floured counter top or cutting board. When it gets to about 1/8 in thick, use a circle cookie cutter to cut out sandwich thin circles.

Carefully place on a greased pan and bake for about 7 minutes. Now, I tried this on two different pans. First, I used a whoopie pie pan (for those of you that don’t know what a whoopie pie is, think of an oreo in cake form…kind of. Or just read this. ) and then I tried a flat cookie sheet. The whoopie pie pan made thins that had a raised up crust, while the cookie sheet made truly flat thins – both tasted equally good, however 😛 The ones made in the whoopie pie pan would be GREAT for kids to make mini pizzas in, or for using to serve hors d’oeuvres. The crackers turned out delicious (I verified this by testing them out with just about anything I could get my hands on), although I would probably increase the amounts of add-ins to at least 2 tablespoons per batch (adjust to your taste!). You can also make these thicker or thinner depending on how you like your crackers and thins (thicker = softer, thinner = harder). These are so easy to make, and so much better for you than anything you can buy at the store!

Finally, I have avoided jellies and jam like the plague for years due to the high sugar (high fructose corn syrup – ew!) content of it – I’d much rather eat the fruit itself, thank you very much! However, I recently saw a demonstration at Whole Foods where the chef used date paste to sweeten things instead of sugar, and even said that he uses it to make his daughter peanut butter and jelly sandwiches instead of jelly! I was super excited to test out this new found jam replacement and use up some dried prunes I had sitting in my fridge. (I love prunes. I think I’m an 85 year old woman at heart…)

It was super simple to make – just throw some dried fruit (unsweetened) into a food processor and keep adding water until it forms a paste (you may have to scrape down the edges every once in a while). Store it in a jar in the refrigerator and that’s it! Despite it’s somewhat unappealing color (apricot is much prettier), it is hands down the most delicious “jam” I’ve ever tasted and there’s not a speck of high fructose corn syrup or added sugar in it – I can’t wait to put this on my toast in the morning 😀

 

Leave a Reply

