Mmmm….soup!

20 Nov

As I said in my last post, I did a kitchen inventory before I went grocery shopping and found that I had two different types of mushrooms that needed to be used. I thought “What the heck can I use two different kinds of mushrooms for that would keep me full for either dinner or lunch?” Luckily, a quick search of one of my favorite blogs gave me a recipe to toy around with – mushroom millet soup! I had a bunch of millet sitting around too so I thought this would be great to try. With a few minor tweaks based off of what I had on hand to use up, we have my very own version of a mushroom millet soup – that also happens to be vegan, gluten free, and fat free!

First, start the millet. I used a rice cooker to make it which keeps the dirty dishes to a minimum (and is also one of the best additions to our kitchen EVER! You can literally just throw whatever grain you want in there, fill it up to the appropriate line mark with water, turn it on and you’re free to do other things while it cooks!). I always begin with spraying the bottom of the rice cooker with cooking spray which really helps prevent things from baking on there and having to chisel them off later. So spray the bottom, add .5 cups millet and turn it on. I let it toast for about 3 minutes in there without water and then I added in .75 cups water and put the lid on to let it cook.

 Toasting…        Finished!

Second, I chopped up 2 celery stalks, 1 cup each of baby bella mushrooms and white mushrooms, and 2 handfuls of spinach and put them in a pot with 1 t olive oil  and 1 t onion powder to saute. Once the spinach starts looking wilted, I added in 3 cups of vegetable stock with some fresh ground pepper and salt (to your liking!) and turned the heat down to let it simmer.

 Saute…

Third, add the millet. The rice cooker’s button will pop to “warm” when it’s finished; immediately scoop it out and put it into the pot simmering with the veggies and broth. The original recipe says to blend some of it, but I like it chunky so I left it as is!

 With millet and broth…

Fourth, enjoy! Not only is this soup so easy to make, but you can throw in any veggies that you need to use up (or grains! Any kind of rice would work well, too).  It also freezes really well so you can make up a huge batch and freeze it in whatever portion sizes you’d like (just leave enough room in the container for expansion 🙂 )

Ingredients:

1 cup baby bella mushrooms, chopped
1 cup white mushrooms, chopped
2 celery stalks
2 handfuls spinach, chopped or torn
1 t olive oil
1 t onion powder
3 cups vegetable broth
salt and pepper to taste
.5 cups dry millet + .75 cups water

2 Responses to “Mmmm….soup!”

  1. frugalfeeding November 20, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Sounds so yummy!

  2. how to hypnotize November 26, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    very good put up, i actually love this web site, keep on it

Leave a Reply

