Eating Healthy While Cutting Your Grocery Bill

20 Nov

Grocery shopping can be a daunting and expensive task when you’re trying to eat healthy. Which is better bang for your buck? Which is better for you? How long will this stay before it starts to rot? And these questions are just the beginning! So I’m going to tell you the tricks I use to grocery shop for healthy stuff AND how to save money at the same time!

  1. Kitchen inventory. This is crucial and a great way to save money. Before I go grocery shopping, I take a kitchen inventory; what do we have? Are there things that we already have that need to be used?
  2. Make a meal plan. Once I know what things we already have, and that need to be used, I sit down and figure out what I want to have for lunch and dinner for the week (breakfast is typically the same thing during the week for ease – the weekends are when I make special stuff!), incorporating those things in to them (this way, you aren’t losing money on food that rots and you have to throw out!) Then I ask myself “What do I need to make these meals that I don’t already have?”
  3. Make a list! Then I sit down and make a list of the things that I need for the meals. I also then go through my coupons and see what coupons I have for those things, and paper clip them to the back of my list. I also put the quantity I need and a “$” next to each item on my list that I have a coupon for so that I don’t forget about it!
  4. Match up. Go through your store’s ad to see if anything that you have coupons for is on sale. If there are items that match up that you’ll use – put them on your list! Don’t forget to write the quantity and “$” next to it for your coupons. If you have a little extra time when you’re out and about, pop in the store real quick and see what the prices are for some of the items that aren’t advertised but you have coupons for. That way you know whether or not it’s a good deal, and won’t waste your time bringing along a bunch of coupons that you won’t be using.
  5. Shop the perimeter. When you go to the grocery store – stay out of the aisles unless you absolutely have to and stick to your list! The stuff around the perimeter is typically the healthiest – dairy/eggs, meat, fruits and veggies and bread. Don’t meander up and down every aisle – you’ll end up not only with loads of unhealthy stuff in your cart, but a much larger bill when you go to check out.
  6. Enjoy your savings. This may seem like a lot of steps, but once you do it a couple times it becomes so second nature it takes no time at all! Since I’ve started doing this method, our grocery bill went from roughly $80 a week to about $35. This week we went grocery shopping and with all of the store sales matched up with my coupons, we saved $31.82 – 47% off our total! Now that’s money in the bank we all can use. 🙂
2 Responses to “Eating Healthy While Cutting Your Grocery Bill”

  1. thewhitedish November 20, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Great read! Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mmmm….soup! « fresh & frugal divas - November 20, 2011

    […] I said in my last post, I did a kitchen inventory before I went grocery shopping and found that I had two different types […]

Leave a Reply

