Homemade Hummus

17 Nov

I love hummus. LOVE hummus. I’ll eat it on toast, rice cakes, carrots, celery, sandwiches, with peanut butter, by the spoonful – you name it, I’ve eaten it with hummus. I used to buy it from the store where it’d cost $2.99 for an 8oz container of Cedar’s or $3.99 for an 80z container of Sabra’s. Trader Joe’s has it for cheapest $1.99 but it’s a bit difficult to get there. Now, I go through at least one container of hummus a week – yes, a WEEK. So I began thinking, what if I made it from scratch? Would it be cheaper? And the answer is yes! And it’s even more delicious than the store brand!

I found this awesome recipe from one of my favorite vegan blogs, Oh She Glows, and absolutely fell in love. At $0.50 – $0.75 per batch (makes about 2.5 cups, or 20 oz – price varies based on the mix in’s you use ie/roasted red peppers, olives, adobo etc. and if you use canned vs. dried beans, dried is much cheaper!) I can make it for about 1/10 the price per ounce AND customize it to my tastes in addition to leaving out all of the preservatives you find in store bought hummus. Now that’s a recipe I’m going to put in the vault!

It’s so simple to make – all you need is some tahini, garbanzo beans, olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, a little vinegar and a food processor and voila! Hummus.

You can then stick it in your fridge in a wide mouth jar (for maximum ease of consumption of course) and have homemade, healthy hummus any time. Yummy!

Let me know if you make it and have any good mix in’s!

4 Responses to “Homemade Hummus”

  1. whenonedoorcloses November 17, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I’ve collected a million hummus recipes over the years but have never made it because I don’t know where to find tahini. Where do you get that (i.e. what store and what section of the store?) I suspect I’ll have a hard time finding it in Maryland (land of nothing ethnic LOL). By the way, this is Paula. 🙂

  2. klessl November 17, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I used to live in DC so I know exactly what you’re talking about! lol You can find it at Whole Foods in one of the ethnic food aisles (they should have a couple aisles that have ingredients for a variety of ethnic food – if you can’t find it, just ask an employee! Tell them you are looking for tahini and they will likely take you right to it). You might be a bit hard pressed to find it at Safeway, and I’m pretty sure you can find it at Trader Joe’s and probably for cheaper than at Whole Foods. It runs about $5 for a jar of it, but it lasts f.o.r.e.v.e.r. because you use so little of it per recipe!

  3. angela November 17, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Wow I haven’t made this hummus in a long time! It’s very good. You should also try my “this hummus will change your life”…that is my all time fav (but not as cheap as this one!). Mmm I think I need hummus with lunch 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fast, easy and cheap way to make beans! « fresh & frugal divas - February 7, 2012

    […] black beans, I made some garbanzo beans. You know what that means…HUMMUS! I made my trusty hummus recipe, but was craving something with a little more zip. I was poking around in the fridge trying to find […]

Leave a Reply

